Figured maple with no figure?
I ran some maple (that I thought was figured) through the planer only to find out it's as plain as can be. This is my first time working with rough maple (it's not one of my favorite woods at all). Did I simply grab a board from the wrong stack? To be honest I couldn't really tell much of a difference between the stack labeled figured and the other stack. I'm assuming that either I or the shop misidentified what was figured. I remember the guy asking me if it was figured or not, perhaps because they look the same rough.

Has this happened to anybody else?
Normally figured lumber of any species is at least skip planed so the figure is visible.
Steve

Mo.

I miss the days of using my dinghy with a girlfriend too. Zack Butler-4/18/24

The Revos apparently are designed to clamp railroad ties and pull together horrifically prepared joints
WaterlooMark 02/9/2020

(12-12-2017, 11:25 AM)FS7 Wrote: I ran some maple (that I thought was figured) through the planer only to find out it's as plain as can be. This is my first time working with rough maple (it's not one of my favorite woods at all). Did I simply grab a board from the wrong stack? To be honest I couldn't really tell much of a difference between the stack labeled figured and the other stack. I'm assuming that either I or the shop misidentified what was figured. I remember the guy asking me if it was figured or not, perhaps because they look the same rough.

Has this happened to anybody else?

Take a sharp gouge or block plane with you to check the figure, though the two maple figures I'm most familiar with are VERY obvious without a slick spot to check.
Better to follow the leader than the pack. Less to step in.
Somebody else might have put it in the wrong stack. Once in a while after I get into them I'll find a figured board amongst a bunch of plain boards but not the other way around.