What wood for carved/routed signs?
My son wants some signs for outside: His name and house number for front of house; several signs for around his pool and patio. Thus at least limited outdoor exposure for all. They will be either hand carved or routed texts. I've never done a project like this before so I'm starting from scratch. What would be the best wood to use - easy to carve or rout, but something that will hold up outdoors? Maybe redwood, cedar, or cypress? Other? I may accent lettering with a contrasting color, but that will be a secondary concern.

This project has been hanging over my head for some time and I'm hoping maybe to complete it over the summer.

Thanks for any suggestions.

There are sellers of sign carving blanks.  If you are going to paint it then you can use the plastic foam versions.  They carve easily and take paint well.

Cedar is the preferred wood.  

Here is one source:

http://www.allwoodsignblanks.com/Home.html
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
The three woods you mentioned would all be good choices. With cedar and cypress, you really need to make sure you're using all heartwood. The sapwood will rot away very quickly. For both woods, make sure your tools are VERY sharp for best results.
Steve S.
------------------------------------------------------
Tradition cannot be inherited, and if you want it you must obtain it by great labour.
- T. S. Eliot

Tutorials and Build-Alongs at The Literary Workshop
When I mentioned that cedar was the preferred wood, I was referring to the combination of availability, price and workability.
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
Clarification ......... When I mentioned accenting the lettering with a contrasting color, I meant merely filling in the letters so they would show up better, not painting the background. The signs will be natural wood, so no plastic or wood or synthetic material.