Shop SmithTurning Spindles
Turning spindles for a chair I'm refurbishing. I have little experience wood turning and very little experience with a duplicator. On the Shop Smith one has limited speed selections. I've experienced some of the thinner spindles braking, quite possibly I get to aggressive trying to remove to much at one time. Other than the obvious, any suggestions. FWIW I've gotten help from a member with my local wood turners club. He also sold me the duplicator for $100.00 with cutters.

Jim
Jim
How thin are the turnings? What tools are you using to turn the spindles? Sharp tools and a light touch are your best friends. Also I would turn the thickest parts first and the thinnest parts last. Also look in to a string steady it might help.

A Shop Smith speed depends on the model.  Some of the earliest ones used a multistep pulley which is limited in speeds while later have speed controls.  Without seeing what you're doing it's hard to offer advice here, but one basic suggestion is to at a minimum to rough the spindles out first and remove a majority of the waste.  If you want them identical then use the duplicator to get them all dimensionally the same then finish them off with final cleanup and sanding.  Depending on how thin the turnings ae you may want to check out lathe steady rests.
Good luck.
(12-05-2021, 09:47 AM)Halfathumb Wrote: Turning spindles for a chair I'm refurbishing. I have little experience wood turning and very little experience with a duplicator. On the Shop Smith one has limited speed selections. I've experienced some of the thinner spindles braking, quite possibly I get to aggressive trying to remove to much at one time. Other than the obvious, any suggestions. FWIW I've gotten help from a member with my local wood turners club. He also sold me the duplicator for $100.00 with cutters.

Jim

On the Shopsmith, the speed range is fully appropriate for spindle turning. The low end is around 700rpm.