Naniwa Chocera Pro Stones
On the recommendation of someone on another forum, I bought a couple Naniwa Chosera Pro waterstones. Full disclosure, I bought the stones to sharpen some knives... They arrived today and I grabbed a very cheap, dull knife and gave it a go. I started off purchasing the 400 and 1000 grit stones. I was very pleased with my first try by hand. The 400 was very aggressive and did not require a lot of time to use. It was also very responsive in that I could feel and hear what it was doing - again, keep in mind I have no experience up to this point, but I was feeling and hearing something... The 1000 also performed well. I was able to get the knife back to moderately shaving sharpness. Definitely not the sharpest result I have ever obtained, but definitely sharp. I believe my angles were not consistent and caused one side of the blade to be flatter ground than the other. [/font][/size][/color]
I am quickly realizing that I have NO natural talent... But I am trying to fake it.
Couldn't wait... ordered the 3000 grit stone today. Was going to space out the purchase a bit, but that didn't last.
I am quickly realizing that I have NO natural talent... But I am trying to fake it.
I've heard great things about the chocera stones, but haven't gotten to try one myself. I'd love to know if you have further thoughts once you've have a chance to use them a bit. Including on the 3000.

Tyler
I will definitely give an update when I receive the 3000 grit stone. I have noticed that I keep a more consistent angle with the 400 than the 1000. I do not know why, but I am suspecting it is due to poor form, lack of experience and the stone is slicker and doesn’t grip the existing angle as well.
I've heard great things about both stones.  The only complaint I've heard about Naniwa is many have said they often develop cracks.
Just something I've hard in Sharpening forums and yt channels.