Woodnet Forums
Wedged Thru Tenon Question - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: Wedged Thru Tenon Question (/showthread.php?tid=7340598)

Wedged Thru Tenon Question - fptahoe - 06-28-2018

I am going to make couple of end tables for my daughter, and I want to have the legs come up through the table top as a thru tenon, and then wedge the tenon in from the top.  I have never done this before and I am thinking I need to chisel the mortise a little wider than the legs, on the two sides that are parallel with the wedges.  My question is how much larger should the mortise on those sides be?  If I use a 1/4" wedge, should the hole be chiseled the width of the leg plus 1/8" on both sides?  Smaller? Larger?  Thanks as always for any advice.  FPT

RE: Wedged Thru Tenon Question - fptahoe - 06-28-2018

Forgot one other question: on the sides that I chisel wider, should they be angled on the same plane as the wedge, or am I just chiseling straight down?

RE: Wedged Thru Tenon Question - gjohn - 06-28-2018

I would have two wedges per tenon, one on each side. Maybe 1/4" in from each side. The mortise should be angled on each side. The wedges would be 1/8" or so at the end of the tenon.

RE: Wedged Thru Tenon Question - bandit571 - 06-28-2018

Something like this?
Confused  
[attachment=11267]
when I was building a rocking chair 
[attachment=11268]
Used one saw kerf on mine..
[attachment=11269]
Underside of the arm rest....
[attachment=11270]
Not too bad? Walnut  wedge, Pine rocker..
Winkgrin 
[attachment=11271]

RE: Wedged Thru Tenon Question - barryvabeach - 06-29-2018