Woodnet Forums
using holly - color change - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: using holly - color change (/showthread.php?tid=7349769)

using holly - color change - Maverick Rail - 08-15-2019

I have no prior experience w/ holly.  Also no experience on this forum.  I started a project about 2 years ago that had holly for its principal pieces.  The project went on hold for about 1 1/2 years, but was recently taken up again.  I ran out of the originally used stock and recently got more.  The new stock is significantly whiter that the original stock.  If used as is, the color difference would be conspicuous.  However, I seem to recall that the original stock was much whiter than it is now when it was first acquired.  Its currently got a faint yellowish/brownish patina.  What is unclear is whether I'm remembering this correctly.  Does untreated holly change color over time to take on that yellowish/brownish tint?

RE: using holly - color change - Bill Holt - 08-15-2019

Maverick, welcome to the forum.

I have no experience with Holy, but I've not heard of any wood that does not change color over 1 1/2 year period.  Is there an "out of sight" area on the piece you can freshen up the surface with a card scraper?  That should let you know if the original color has darkened.

I'm sure someone with more knowledge than I will chime in, good luck.

RE: using holly - color change - Rob Young - 08-15-2019

Holy will yellow only slightly on its own. Much less than maple or pearwood. That's one reason holly makes for a good decorative element.

As mentioned, try a little light sanding or scraping in an area that wouldn't show or just needs sanding or scraping anyway. Bet it reverts to a lighter color.

Holly is also one of those woods that has to be harvested at the right time (winter I think) otherwise it does go a sickly brown color when dried.

RE: using holly - color change - AHill - 08-15-2019