Woodnet Forums
jointer planer options - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: jointer planer options (/showthread.php?tid=7359098)

jointer planer options - Demps - 11-24-2020

I'm thinking of upgrading my 8 inch jointer to a 12 inch capacity.  J/P combo machines seem to be the way to go.
Budget is roughly 3k, so Jet and Grizzly are on the radar.  The JJP-12 with Black Friday sales looks attractive, but I have to wonder why the next level up in jet is 1200 dollars more.  Grizzly is also backordered.

Any sage advise would be appreciated.  Open to alternatives as well.
Thanks...

RE: jointer planer options - rwe2156 - 11-24-2020

I have no experience with a combo machine, but I know it wouldn't fit my work flow.

I've always viewed combo machines as applicable when space is an issue, but I've seen them used in commercial shops.

In my work methods, I am often going back and forth between planer and jointer, so converting would be a pain.

Then again, we all adjust our methods and work flow to our machines and shop set up, don't we?

RE: jointer planer options - Hank Knight - 11-24-2020

(11-24-2020, 09:13 AM)Demps Wrote: I'm thinking of upgrading my 8 inch jointer to a 12 inch capacity.  J/P combo machines seem to be the way to go.
Budget is roughly 3k, so Jet and Grizzly are on the radar.  The JJP-12 with Black Friday sales looks attractive, but I have to wonder why the next level up in jet is 1200 dollars more.  Grizzly is also backordered.

Any sage advise would be appreciated.  Open to alternatives as well.
Thanks...