Introduction (updated with pictures of workbench build progress)
I'd like to introduce myself. I've been reading the forum for quite a while, and have finally decided to participate. I'm relatively new to woodworking, and use hand tools almost exclusively (I purchased an old 16-inch Walker Turner bandsaw to help with some of the more laborious work).

I've built a few projects so far, including a humidor, some bookshelves, the shipping crate from the Joiner and Cabinetmaker (it holds my granite surface plate), and a box for my wife, but my most ambitious project is currently a work in progress. I'm building a shaker-style workbench like the one in Scott Landis' Workbench Book. I'm using European Beech for the top, legs, stretchers, etc. and poplar for the back and side panels, drawer fronts and bottoms, and doors. It's been pretty slow going--I'm just taking my time and working on it for fun after work and on weekends.

I've learned a ton from reading everyone's posts, and will probably be asking more questions in the near future. I'll post some pictures of the (limited) progress on my bench this evening.

Regards,

Sean
SSolomon said:

I've built a few projects so far, including a humidor, some bookshelves, the shipping crate from the Joiner and Cabinetmaker (it holds my granite surface plate), and a box for my wife, but my most ambitious project is currently a work in progress. I'm building a shaker-style workbench like the one in Scott Landis' Workbench Book. I'm using European Beech for the top, legs, stretchers, etc. and poplar for the back and side panels, drawer fronts and bottoms, and doors.
Sean

Sean, welcome!!

No pictures- it didn't happen.

Joe
"We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm"
                                                                                                                        Winston Churchill