Turning 101 syllabus please
My related background: I used a lathe in school shop class 20-25 yrs ago. I have been doing other woodworking for 15+ years (just to show you that I know where I am/what I have stepped in, let me say it for you: "what is this 'other woodworking' you speak of?" ). Always wanted to get a lathe to play with, but never had the proper justification...

Well...yesterday a friend gave me a lathe he bought for $4 at an auction. Again, I understand...this may be the most costly free thing I wll ever get! It is a Wilton Mini Wood Lathe model 99177.

so....where do I start? I don't have anything specific I need to do...thought it would be cool to make a chess set for the kids after a little practice (maybe checkers first). I just want to mess around a little for now. So, in line with the thread title, I am not looking for an all inclusive everything I need to know, but topics I need to study and resources to reference. I went 10 pages back in this forum and read anything that sounded like a beginners thread. Good stuff.

Oh, and I am on a tight budget...

Specific questions that I do have:
The lathe is missing the face plate but after cleaning a little surface rust, it is otherwise in great shape. So help me get the right face plate.

I read the "quality lathe tools" thread. I am of the mind "It only hurts once when you buy it"...rather than buying cheap then up grading a little, then buying the one I should have started with...but I don't have $300 to spend now. Is it a bad idea to buy 1 or two quality tools (which ones?) plus the 8 piece set at Menards for $20 just to have a starter set?

Finally any info on blanks would be helpful. I have regular access to chunks of wood...I just need to know what to keep or toss. I just put some root burls from an ornamental cherry in a friend's firewood pile. I will take those back next time I drop off a load of wood...
Good info: http://nealaddy.org/node/39
^^^^^ +1
Semper fi,
Brad