Opinions--Fire Protection for Important Papars
After seeing the devastation of some of these houses lost to the wild fires out here-----starting to second guess the steps I've taken.

We have a Sentury Safe----floor mounted in our garage (the lowest part of the house, on a slab). As any fire will burn up and there's no combustibles under the safe, I figured this was about the best location.

But having seen some of these houses which obviously had high heat----beginning to wonder.

Any thoughts? We're trying to keep the number of locations where we need to gather items to take in case of an evacuation.

Now, the safe is still the best solution if there were ever a fire when we were gone, but open to suggestions.
Dave
It all depends on the fire rating of your safe.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

Fireking.com ...look at the 2 hour rated cabinets
I bought a Fireking 2-1929-2 2 hour fire rated file cabinet and am really happy with it. It is 477 pounds. I wanted the best rating.
I am going to get another also for another location in the shop.

Also look at TL30x6 burglary safes ...about the best rating. I have a big one of those and it is 2400 pounds...Inkas Safes

I would not be suprised if a little Sentry safe melted into a puddle

Also Fire King has a lot of other good fire rated storage products.

The only thing I keep wondering about home safes (I have one as well) is how do you get into the thing after a devastating fire? I mean, the locking mechanism is going to be toast, so it will take an angle grinder, torch, or the Jaws of Life to open the thing (seems to me). I'm thinking a safe deposit box at the bank may be a better alternative.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
Bank box.