RIT dye for wood?
I make scrollsawn Christmas ornaments every year. Once & awhile I'll paint them, more often, I just leave them natural and spray shellac on them. This year I'm thinking of trying to use dye to color them. RIT dye says it can be used for wood. I cut the ornaments out of 1/8" Baltic birch ply and am trying to achieve sort of a "washed" look. I don't necessarily want a solid color, or I would just use paint. I've never used a dye before, so there will be some trial & error testing to be done first, but I wondered if anyone here might offer some sage advice on using this stuff?

Thanks
If you are going down a river at 2 mph and your canoe loses a wheel, how much pancake mix would you need to shingle your roof?

I've been looking at the very same thing. I'll be interested to read your observations. I imagine light fastness is a major consideration. RIT is definitely attractive from a price perspective. Writing that last sentence also gives me one more thought. I wonder how concentrated it is. It isn't really a bargain if the concentration is low and the competition (more expensive) has high concentration.
I've tried RIT and haven't cared much for the results. For me, the colors weren't intense enough and the effect was like a stain with big color particles hanging up in the pores of the wood rather than the more even coloring you expect with a dye. You can always try one color and see what you think. Be sure to let it dry and put a finish over it before you judge - dyes tend to look washed out without a clear over the top. Mostly I've used the water soluble powders sold at all the woodworking shops. All the brands I've tried have been good and its very easy to mix colors. Get black, blue, yellow, and red and you can make just about any other color.