IPHONE ACOUSTIC AMPLIFIER
I would like to make a small wooden acoustic amplifier for my son's iphone. I've seen some plans in some woodworking magazines but I forgot which one. Any of you make any of these that sound really good? I have the Bluetooth Bose electronic that is awesome but I want something he can just plop his phone in to give him a better sound than having to plug in and re-charge, etc.

Thanks for looking.
Rob
Rob-

I started to build something similar for my Ipod, but haven't gotten too far. I was going to hang it on the wall of my shop to have a safe place to set it and not take any bench or shelf space. This was a plan I found and was going to follow in a general sort of way. I'm skeptical that sound will follow the little channels in a box of this sort. I was thinking it would work better made of very thin stock that might have a chance of vibrating like the face of a guitar and provide better sound. I'm no sound engineer, but I think this is more of a holder than anything that gives much amplification. I get what I expect will be a similar effect by setting my Ipod on a hard surface or lean it up against a vertical surface. Some people just set their gizmo in a water glass or bowl. If you do an image search for passive amplifier you get a lot of ideas, some a lot more attractive than the box shown in the link above. Probably a lot more art than function in a lot of these.

Phil
I made a set for my family for Christmas two years back.

Made mine on the CNC, but it consists of three layers that you can cut easily with a bandsaw or scroll saw.

Flat, rectangular, a bit bigger than a cigarette pack. Sounds good too.

PM me with an email address and I will happily send you the drawings. I can send Measured drawings or .dxf files.

Ralph
Ralph Bagnall
www.woodcademy.com
Watch Woodcademy TV free on our website.
The one I recall was in Wood magazine:

http://www.woodstore.net/plans/gifts/off...-Amplifier.html