staked furniture and George Nakashima
I've been reading Mira Nakashima's wonderful book about her father, Nature Form and Spirit. I've been particularly interested in the lovely stools and small chairs he made that are very simple, just turned legs fasted to a seat, with no spindles or other bracing. It made me think of the staked stool / saw bench that I recently made. Except that the legs don't go all the way through the seat--which is nice if the seat has especially nice figure. I assume that they must be straight and not tapered where they enter the seat, and not wedged. Or maybe they are wedged? My question is this: how do you think he fastened these legs to make the joint strong enough to hold, and to keep holding, in the absence of any kind of bracing? Beyond my staked stool and some one legged stools I made for my son's school, I have little experience with this kind of construction.
Might you be thinking along these lines?:

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/364087951101336021/
I saw my first piece of Nakashima furniture at a friend's house in December 1965. It was kind of a novelty at the time. Hard to believe it has been fifty years.

I remembered there was a mention of the leg to seat joint in an old Fine Woodworking magazine so I looked it up to be sure I was remembering right. He bored a straight hole, used white glue, and pinned the joint with a small diagonal dowel. It is not a repair friendly joint; if someone did this today I would call it throwaway furniture.

Nakashima was a master at self promotion and marketing, joinery not so much. If you want a strong stool I would recommend a through tenon with wedge and stretchers between legs, a more traditional approach.