Got some time with the lathe
Had a chance to do a bit of lathe work, here are a couple of my efforts. Need to work on my technique with the Turquoise inlay, among a lot of other things.
Ed
" />
" />
" />
" />
" />
How did you get the bowl to stick to the cup.

Good work on the bowl. Maybe if you use something to break it up and put all of the dust and everything in it might look better. I have never used it before though.

Arlin

PS - Looking at the stone again if you did break it up you could get rid of the white part more even though most people do not know that Turquoise has a lot of other colors in it too.
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
Those look sweet! Love turquoise inlay, don't like the effect it has on my tools.

From my experience with it, you want it crushed up smaller; almost to the point of being dust. I've used a hammer before & it goes all over despite my best efforts to contain it. Seen online that two pieces of black pipe, one smaller than the other, with end caps on works well; you put the stone in the larger & then use the smaller to pulverize it and the bits can't fly everywhere.

Being in AZ, you can probably just walk out the back yard and pick it up, huh?
"I'm glad being trapped in the woods hunted by an insane militia made you ask the big life questions."

Check out my Project Blog
Put it in a zip lock bag and then tap with a hammer or use a mortar and pestle.

Mel
ABC(Anything But Crapsman)club member
Arlin, How did you get the bowl to stick to the cup?
With my gravity chuck, works everywhere on earth. Only problem is you have to stand the lathe on the headstock end, and as usual cut downhill.