LN Tapered Carcass Saw - question
Purchased the 14" LN tapered carcass saw. I have tried hard to like it over the last 2 months.

Problem is, I don't think I like it. The plate is very thin. Thinner than even my little Veritas dovetail saw. But, being so thin, it seems to flex. Now this has got to be due to technique, and I am working on it... But I find I reach for my old 12" Richardson Bro's tenon saw, or my 10" KeenKutter backsaw, or even my Disston #4... I have more confidence with them, because they are a stiffer plate? Or smaller size? Can't figure it out.

I also dont think I can control the 14" saw plate well enough for cutting tenon shoulders or other joinery.

Do you guys like this thing? And what do I need to do to get where I like mine?
I have no experience with the LN, but I do own a Richardson Bros. tapered back saw. I put a 10 degree rake on it. It sounds to me like you could adjust the rake on your LN to get it to perform better.

Eric
The LN .015" plate saws take some getting used to, but its worth the effort. I have found that they do not provide the same feedback that a regular thickness plate saw provides. If your sawing technique is not perfect, lets say you are off line with the saw stroke a bit, which would end up binding the saw in the cut. With a reg. plate saw, you will at some point feel the start of the bind and correct. With the thinner plate saw, you may not sense the binding as easily and thus may not correct as quickly or at all. For someone that has perfect technique, there should be no flex in the saw plate, and the saw starts very easily tracks beautifully and cuts fast. My experience has been with the rip DT saw, but I think it is applicable to the crosscut saw. LN saws: the most underrated saws out there (no, I don't own stock in LN).
I might be missing something here, but I don't see the logic in taper grinding a .015 saw plate.