unvented attic in 1970's home
We just finished all of our inspections on a house built in 1973 that we plan on buying. the house is in North Texas and upon inspection into the attic space, it had no ventilation, very little insulation, and surprising to me no mold. I thought you had to get good ventilation in the attic to prevent mold. How does this unvented system work and do I need to look into converting to a vented system and/or add insulation to the attic floor or roof sheathing? When I search unvented attic, I get hits on spray foam and rigid foam that seem fairly modern in concept.
Destinmatt said:

I thought you had to get good ventilation in the attic to prevent mold.

That gets over exaggerated as much as the need for grounding your dust collection and that PVC air lines will blow up and kill you.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

My last house was built in 1975, and had a small (shallow slope roof) unvented attic. Worse, the upstairs bath fans blew right into the attic, not through the roof (I fixed that part in 1990). Anyway, there was no sign of any damage to any fof the roof decking, no mold/rot anywhere, and no shingle damage. I asked here if it was ever OK to have an unvented attic, and pretty much was told it was absolutely not OK. Still, that didn't jive with this particular experience. Somone did say "if it ain't broke, why fix it?"...I'm kinda in that camp. If there's no damage, I wouldn't fret too much. If you want to vent it, go ahead...it's your house and the venting may help with the summer heat.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.