stupid mistake... Need suggestions
Okay, I've been turning for about 7-8 years, but took a long break after we moved to a new house and didn't have a shop. Well, after getting the shop built, I had back surgery. After getting over the surgery, I pulled my Rikon 70-100 lathe out, set it up, and started turning again. I put my chuck on it to turn some fridge magnets, and somehow (still can't figure out how) the chuck worked loose, and I didn't notice. Flipped the switch, and now the chuck is jammed on. I've tried locking the headstock and using a big crescent to loosen it (bent the spindle lock pin). Tried using a ratchet strap as a strap wrench to hold the spindle and then tightened a long board in the chuck to break it loose (that didn't work either). I'm kind of at my wit's end. I know that I SHOULD have had a nylon washer between the spindle and the chuck, but we all know how hindsight is. Does anybody have a recommendation on breaking the chuck loose? I've got to get some pens made, and I really need that chuck off of there.

Not that it particularly makes a difference, but the chuck is a woodriver chuck from woodcraft.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Thanks a million.
Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently motivated fool.
Pipe wrench on the spindle. Pipe wrench on the chuck. Hit it with a hammer rather than a steady pull.

Twinn
Will post for food.
I am not implying anything but are you turning it the right way? DAMHIKT

Arlin
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
+1 on both the above replies. Make sure of rotation, then rap with hammer.
"Truth is a highway leading to freedom"  --Kris Kristofferson

Wild Turkey
We may see the writing on the wall, but all we do is criticize the handwriting.
(joined 10/1999)