Adhesive question
Hello,

I'm wondering what you would recommend as the strongest adhesive to attach a stainless steel plate to walnut?

I've been going back and fourth between CA or epoxy.

I have not had too much luck with epoxy lately and I don't know if it is user error or if my epoxy resin is just getting old (much of it has crystalized in the bottle.) I have System Three epoxy.

Thanks
Peter

My "day job"
Go get a new tube of epoxy at the hardware store.
Unless you need a large quantity.

Make sure the steel is clean of oils.
If the wood is already finished, Scuff and scratch it so the epoxy can stick to the wood.
Woodwork... It's what I do for a living.
(well, such as it may be, It's my job)
((cept my boss is a @#!*&))
I think I'm gonna fire myself for that
I recently used Gorilla glue to attach brass to walnut and it worked fine. I wouldn't know if it was the strongest available but I've had no problems with detaching.
DonJuvet said:

Go get a new tube of epoxy at the hardware store.
Unless you need a large quantity.

Make sure the steel is clean of oils.
If the wood is already finished, Scuff and scratch it so the epoxy can stick to the wood.

Thanks,

I think I'll need to switch to buying small tubes of adhesive rather than buying in bulk.

Other than Titebond III I just don't go through a lot of adhesives and when I get around to using them (a few years later) they have 'gone bad'

I recently did the same thing with CA glue. Now I just buy and use the little toothpaste looking tubes as single use glue because I just don't use it fast enough to avoid it going bad.

The wood is not finished.

Thanks again
Peter

My "day job"
I would consider silicone instead of epoxy.

Epoxy is brittle and if the stainless expands due to temp changes it could break the bond.

This to that website suggests contact glue for large areas
"Truth is a highway leading to freedom"  --Kris Kristofferson

Wild Turkey