PC 698 router table
I was gifted a PC 698 router table sans router. I am a hobbyist and don't do a lot of router table work.

First of all, how useful is this table and are their major draw backs.

What routers will work on this? Preferably something not that expensive. I probably will only do light to medium work with it.

Adjusting the bit height. Fixed or plunge base? How difficult will it be to adjust height?

Any other pearls of wisdom from the router folks??

Thanks, Tom
Tom,

It's OK. Have a look at the reviews of this on Amazon. Besides, what options are you considering?

Most routers will mount on this table but if you will buy a router consider the PC 690, an older, basic, well regarded router. It has reasonable power but it's single speed.

Generally you'll want a fixed base router under a router table. I believe there are exceptions.

Router table setups are a very open-ended subject. Your table and the PC 690 or equivalent are toward the lower end but IMO very useful. You could easily spend well over $1000 for a higher-end setup with cast iron table, router lift, variable speed router, etc.

I have been very productive for 20 years with a shop-modified low end aluminum and steel table, and variable speed router with no bells and whistles. I learned as I went along.

If you have limited experience with table mounted routers, this might be a reasonable place to start. BTW I consider a router to be the most dangerous tool in my shop. If you are new to this, I highly recommend Gary Rogowsdki's book Router Joinery and DVD on the subject. Also, you will see what he uses for a router table. He uses a board with a hole in it, clamped to a bench

Doug