Add Cockbeading to Table Rails?
I'm building a small side table out of Alder. I have the idea to add cockbeading around the table rails. I've never done this before, and I tried googling, but couldn't find much info.

Is it as simple as making a strip of wood, rounding over the edge with my #4, and glueing it to the bottom of the rails? It's cross grain, but it's ok?

I am not considering cutting a rabbet or anything; the underneath/back of it will be hidden.

I would do this after I cut the tenons, and just build the piece to fit between the shoulders.

Thoughts?
I think pictures or drawings would help.

Does this table have drawers?

If I understand what you want, then adding a small strip with rounded edge to the bottom of the rails all around the table?

Any offset of the rails from the legs. I would move the rails slightly back from the legs (indented 1/4" to 3/8"). Why not add the beading to the top and bottom of the rails? How thick are the legs? Are the legs tapered?
WoodTinker
WoodTinker said:

Does this table have drawers?

If I understand what you want, then adding a small strip with rounded edge to the bottom of the rails all around the table?

Any offset of the rails from the legs. I would move the rails slightly back from the legs (indented 1/4" to 3/8"). Why not add the beading to the top and bottom of the rails? How thick are the legs? Are the legs tapered?

No drawers.
Yes, a rounded edge to the bottom of all 4 table rails.
I hadn't thought of adding one to the top as well, not sure you'd be able to see it with the top overhang?

No taper at the mortised spot of the legs. 6" or so of flat before sweeping taper begins.

1.5" square legs, 7/8" thick 3 7/8" wide rails. All of these measurements are approximate, I don't measure things much because of using hand tools for it all. The offset would be 3/8" or so.

Should the bead extend past the offset, or less than?

I'll work on a sample and try to get a pic.