Antique workbench
Not sure if I should post this here or in finishing,but it is a hand tool. I just purchased an 10' long antique workbench with a leg vise. After cleaning the wood what finish would the experts on this forum recommend. The wood seems like it could a finish that would soak in? I will try to post some pictures for you to see. Thanks
Kopp, there are a lot of choices - one common one is a wiping varnish -  Miniwax Antique Oil Finish or Watco are two common ones.  You will get an antique look, and will be easy to repair. I just planed down my bench a little this weekend, and used a water based finish - though I applied it very lightly -  it raised the grain slightly and I am hoping that it will make the top a little less slippery, but too early to tell.
I am no expert.
But I routinely plane / scrape my fur and pine bench top and re coat with Watco Danish Oil.

I am really happy with the result.

Ag
Hard to say without seeing it. Nothing like the patina of an old antique workbench.  Might be best to just leave it as is.
(07-19-2016, 06:30 PM)Kopp Wrote: Not sure if I should post this here or in finishing,but it is a hand tool. I just purchased an 10' long antique workbench with a leg vise. After cleaning the wood what finish would the experts on this forum recommend. The wood seems like it could a finish that would soak in? I will try to post some pictures for you to see. Thanks

Without pictures, I do not believe you that you acquired an antique workbench...

However, if you really did, then I would rub some Boiled Linseed Oil in to the top, and get after it.