replace vinyl siding corner
My parents sent me this picture and told me that for some reason they have a spare corner piece. They have no idea how to fix it themselves, but supposedly a local handyman quoted them some obscene $2k+ figure. I gotta imagine it would just sorta snap off and the new one on? Or is there some hidden complexity to replacing this?  I've never done vinyl siding. 
Edit: this is just a one-story high corner.

[Image: ezHpWMp.jpg]
You've got to take off the siding to replace it.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

It's what Cletus said, the corner is the first thing to go on so the siding would have to be removed....that probably doesn't justify the $2000 quote, though. If'n that were mine, and that damage not all that visible I'd half-butt it. Cut a small piece of the replacement and use PVC glue (plumbing stuff) to just glue a patch over it.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
Also, I don't know where you are at, but the "handymen" around here are swamped. I've been doing some odd jobs on some friends rentals because their normal handymen can't get to it. It may be a case of "If I'm going to do it, I'm going to get paid well."
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

(08-30-2016, 02:43 PM)CLETUS Wrote: Also, I don't know where you are at, but the "handymen" around here are swamped. I've been doing some odd jobs on some friends rentals because their normal handymen can't get to it. It may be a case of "If I'm going to do it, I'm going to get paid well."