Upgrade to a Nova DVR XP?
I currently have a Delta 46-460 lathe.
- 12.5" swing
- 16.5" length (between spindles)
- 1 HP motor
- Variable speed (via rheostat)
- 4 years old, still under warranty, and works fine.

My local Rockler has a "Floor Model" (not used, simply displayed on the floor) Nova DVR XP for $2080. (No legs/stand - I'll build one.)
- 16" swing
- 24" length (between spindles)
- 1.75 HP DVR motor
- Variable speed
- New with factory warranty
- Swing head for larger pieces

I am still a turning newbie, but I like turning and am doing bowls and lidded boxes (so far).

Looking for inputs/advice especially from owners of the Nova DVR XP.

Billbo
Smyrna, GA
I have a DVR-XP and have used it for about a decade now

The outboard is extremely limited (I have it), it is really only able to to platters and/or shallow forms. Even then the blanks should be round and balanced. I'm not certain I would buy it again.

You will probably find the basic bed too short, I know I did and added an extension and am considering adding a 2nd one

You can get a little more power if you change the wiring over to 220V. While this is not true for most motors, the DVR is not a normal motor.

Connect your DVR to a commercial quality surge arrestor. I have a bad habit of leaving mine on 24-7 (I just realized I left it on again).

Mine probably has 100x the hours our club on has with zero failures. While the club one I have had to fix twice.

I really like the 5 preset speeds, I really like the "stop on catch" the DVR control electronics has, I really like that the lathe always "turns on" at 500 rpm, no matter what speed it was at when you turned it off. I really that both the head-stock and tail-stock are hollow. I really like that for small hollow forms I can swing the head "just a bit" and hollow looking down into the form. I like that it will reverse, at full power, I really like that it produces full power from 100 to 3500 rpm (no most motors will not do that either)