Upgrade from Rikon 70-100 to Nova 1624?
I’m pretty sure I’ve found my upgrade lathe, but just want to make sure I’m not missing something critical.

For starters, I’m new to turning. I bought a Rikon 70-100 several years ago, but really just dusted it off and started using it this past year or so. I guess I’m leaning toward bowls, but am also interested in many spindle projects. I’ve been experimenting with both.

Today, I received a mailer from Woodcraft advertising the new Nova 1624 Type II for $849. That seems like a really great bargain to me – especially if the local store has it in stock like their website says so I won’t incur shipping charges. 

From what I understand, it is belt driven, which means, like the Rikon, I will still need to change pulley’s to change speeds. For this price, I’m OK with that. I’m not assuming this would be my last lathe, but am hoping it will serve me well for a number of years as I progress.

So, any words of caution/wisdom?

Thanks in advance,

Mike
I have this lathe (the Type I, meaning gray) and like it a lot.  It does have it's limits in length at only 24".  I like the rotating head.  The belt changes are quick but I've ordered a DVR replacement for it.  I think I'm going to fully love it when it is VS.  If you can get it locally that would be awesome.  I had a headstock issue with mine that required waiting for a couple of weeks after I got it to actually turn on.  That sucks!  Their parts are a little slow too, I ordered my DVR head back in the middle of October and it keeps getting pushed back.  I rarely use the outboard attachment, so if that's something you are considering, I'd turn for awhile and see if you "need" it.  I should have bought the bed extension and swingaway for it instead. 

For all it is and isn't, it IS a solid lathe at a fair price to get in at the range it offers.  That's my opinion at least.