Old DeWalts
This doesn't apply to Craftsman radial arm saws, they are the reason the RAS get a bad rap. I have some experience with DeWalts. I've used one since I was 11 years old, I'm 67 now. I've even used the big ones on construction sites as the sawyer. Guess I'll write a bit of treatise on the RAS.

On Accuracy: A good RAS can be as accurate or more so than as Festool SCMS . Here's the rub, they are adjustable, and there are many adjustments. A lot of woodworkers aren't very good millwrights, or electricians for that matter. Download Jon Eakes book on them http://joneakes.com/ and check http://vintagemachinery.org/home.aspx for old owners manuals.

On safety ,Fear Them. They were considered more safe than table saws because you could see the blade. That's why my dad let me use it. Not mentioned, but certainly the case, they are fearsome. Since most were designed to be able run on 15amp 110 circuits, they are under powered.(same holds true for SCMSs) Where the lack of power is troublesome is when you are doing a heavy cut they can slowdown and then they try climbing instead of cutting. Obviously this calls for sharp blades and slow feed rates. But blade design comes into play as well. The old stand by was a 5 degree negative pitch tooth, but since RAS aren't too common any more, good luck on finding a proper blade. I've been using a thin kerf Freud combination which works fine for me and Dad's old DeWalt. When you wire them 220 they work much better. I don't care what the name plate says they will draw more than 15amps.at 110. I fellow the rule of 12 inches, Keep Fingers 12 inches away so you can Keep 10 Fingers. This means pulling with your left and holding with your right.

On ripping. Basically don't bother. As I've said they are bit underpowered for one. And most used ones are missing the irreplaceable post with it's anti kick back pawls. The owners manual will show the correct set up.