11 X 14 Walnut picture frames
I've realized I need a lot of practice woodworking so why not practice on some picture frames for my home and give some away as gifts.  I'm in the process of finishing 2 Walnut picture frames for some Red-tailed Hawk prints I have laying around the house.  When I start on a picture frame I have a basic idea in my head but in the end it evolves to the end result as I build it.  I figured Walnut would compliment the brown tones in one of my favorite photography subjects...a Red-tailed Hawk I've been photographing for the last 3 years near my home.

The finish is simply Teak Oil and in the picture is just the first coat of oil on the frame applied this morning.
Looks like you have a willing photography subject too
Big Grin

Frames are more than just a housing for pics. By the look of it you are also becoming very proficient in cutting parts to correct length, making tight, and square miters, making edges, maybe on a router table? Is that a grain wrap I detect? Now if you keep making frames maybe think about how many types of corner joint can I use to learn new joinery methods.. All in all, wonderful skill builders.

Nice job.
Big Grin
Worst thing they can do is cook ya and eat ya

GW
(01-23-2017, 08:45 AM)Steve N Wrote: Looks like you have a willing photography subject too
Big Grin

Frames are more than just a housing for pics. By the look of it you are also becoming very proficient in cutting parts to correct length, making tight, and square miters, making edges, maybe on a router table? Is that a grain wrap I detect? Now if you keep making frames maybe think about how many types of corner joint can I use to learn new joinery methods.. All in all, wonderful skill builders.

Nice job.
Big Grin

If any grain matches it was pure accident.