Cutting dovetails
Another endorsement for a DT a day for a month. I self-taught, cutting many practice dovetails, but the "one a day for thirty days" would have made it much easier for me.

You need a decent saw and not necessarily to most expensive. Learn to saw sraight, prep stock correctly(square, both ways) and layout accurately. Out of curiousity, last year I had the chance to try out a dovetail cutting aid-worst looking DT's I made in a decade!
Waiting to grow up beyond being just a member
www.metaltech-pm.com
Thanks Hank.  I have been working with the SYP, because I have a decent amount of it that I want to use up for a cabinet I am building for the shop.  You are 100% correct in what you mentioned about SYP.  It is a "bear" to work with, especially hand sawing and chiseling.  I haven't tried any oak, cherry or walnut yet for DT's, so hopefully the experience will be better.
Smile  I am using a Vertias Dovetail Saw, which hasn't seen much work until now, so it's plenty sharp.  Again, thanks for the advice.   I really do enjoy cutting dovetails by hand.  It is nice to be able to pair off slivers, and go test fit the pieces.  It beats the router, which is so noisy and creates so much dust that know matter what you use, you and the shop are just covered in dust!!!  

Scott
Smoothjazz, Where in the north east do you live? I might be able to get you some poplar to practice on. Personally I hate pine for dovetails. It has such a tendency to crumble if you cut tight joinery.