Just looked at a Nova Galaxi DVR 1644 Lathe
As I mentioned in a previous thread, I've been using an older Delta 12" floor lathe for a few years now.  It's a good machine, but it does have its limitations.  I'd like a machine that can turn a larger blank, a bit more hp (mine is driven with a 1hp motor) and runs a bit smoother than mine does with the reeves drive.  I'd also like to keep the costs down, maybe somewhere between 1500 and 2000.

The local woodcraft has two Nova lathes on the floor, a Nova Galaxi 1644 DVR lathe and a 1624 II.   The 1624 is the smaller of the two and uses an 8 step pulley for speed changes.  It has a pivoting head, and a fairly short bed.  The asking price is 999.

The Galaxi lathe is a new model and is full sized.  The bed looks longer than my floor model Delta.  We were able to power up the headstock and it does run very smoothly.  Construction looks to be very good, heavy castings.  The tailstock moves smoothly, not as nice as the Powermatic sitting next to it, but better than the 1624.  This model is on sale for 1999 till March 23.  I was impressed by what I saw.

From what I read, Teknatool has offshored their production to China, though I couldn't find any tag on the lathe that showed the country of origin.   If it is Asian made, than it's no better or worse than Griz which is also under consideration.  I did a quick search of the forum and found a few comments about their quality suffering a bit, but if it's like any new product, it has growing pains.  I like the 999 price better than the 1999 price, but I am spoiled by VS, even if it is mechanical.  The Galaxi is much more substantial which is also a big plus.  I have only seen the Grizzly lathes online, I would love to play with one firsthand, but that may not be possible.

I'm open to comments and opinions.  Tell me what you think.

[Image: zoom.jpg?c=1482182988]

[Image: zoom.jpg?c=1480970101]
We own a Grizzly G0766 and a Nova DVR-XP. I've also looked at the new Galaxi