Design: The Milking Stool - a trivet
I am a designer. I spent 40 years throwing the same material at uniquely different problems. Some of the problems had formulaic solutions, but constraints were never the same. I assess situations and resolve problems. It's a ruthlessly blunt process to design. Always critical. Critical as in productive review to come to a good, if not best, working solution.

In woodworking I watch the blogs and read the same magazines everyone else  on this forum follows; most of them.  When I look at projects by published woodworkers I always find questions or flaws. There is no intent to put myself above the good folks who hang their necks out for my target practice. So get over your deity worship, and open your eyes. Because I plan to critique the stuff we admire. 

I am watching The Schwarz fall into the abyss of dry sockets and silly objects. I met him when he built his first bench for Pop Wood. He is still building work benches. And despite his design formulae, he can really botch a good bench. But this post is about furniture short some parts--legs, specifically. And, Chris is showing us one in his Pop Wood blog. Gaaaahjhh! I'm New Form illiterate. Here's the link 

It's a work in progress, or failure, according to Chris. So just a couple nice observations:

1. Trivets are for resting on not-flat surfaces. And, milking stools are for rough floors that four legs don't align to very well. They both do the same thing. They support heavy objects that need to be centered over the three support legs on weird surfaces. Most people don't consider a second use of milk stools, allowing the milker to easily fall away from a milkee kicking at or pushing into the milker. A cousin taught me that lesson in my single-digit age days. I even used three fingers to squirt the milk shake.