Stair Lifts
Anybody have some first hand experience with stair lifts?  It looks likely that my mother-in-law may be moving in with us. Unfortunately, our house is a bi-level and she won't be able to manage the stairs. A few specific questions; should a guy consider buying used and self installing? Are certain brands more dependable than others? Anything I should either avoid or look for?
We had a local company quote us about $3000 for a new unit installed (Acorn, I think?) It seems like a lot of money to get up six steps, especially for a temporary situation. Most of what I've read dissuades the end user to self install. I understand the obvious need for safety and security, but it doesn't look like rocket science. I appreciate any advice - including whatever questions I was too stupid to ask.
Home made one with a Harbor Freight winch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EqJl7_r-EE
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

(04-25-2017, 02:42 PM)CLETUS Wrote: Home made one with a Harbor Freight winch.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8EqJl7_r-EE

That's pretty cool and he got actor John Goodman to provide narration.
I'm not saying you can't install an electric chair lift yourself, but it seems fairly complicated. I removed one from my daughter's house a year or so ago. It was heavy and the track had to be installed just so. I'm not afraid to tackle most jobs around the house but this is one I'd leave to the pros.