How to replace this shower valve?
This is the back side of the shower/tub my kids/guests use.  I want to upgrade this to a nicer Delta mixing valve that we already use in our master bath.

It's easy enough to disconnect the supplies, but I'm scratching my head on how to disconnect the lines to the shower head and the tub spout.  As you can see, the original installer used pipe dope to seal the threaded connections to the body.  I've confirmed on the valve I removed from the MBR that with enough force I can loosen the connection, but it wasn't in the wall at the time.  The connection at the top near the shower head is surely screwed to some wood (I'm guessing, but it was in the MBR) so it's not going to spin.

I'm thinking to cut the pipe going down to the tub spout and replacing it after the new valve is in.  I might have to cut some pipe later anyway depending on the new valve.  Any other ideas?  I'm a soldering novice so I'm trying to avoid getting a torch in here if I don't have to.

Those are compressing fittings right? Just back the nuts off with a wrench?

Oh wait no. Not compressing. I think you will need to cut those.
Cut all 4 pipes use these to repair the 2 you are having trouble with 
I have to tell you sweating joints is not rocket science.  Look at youtube and practice some before the main event.  I use some flashing to protect whatever I am worried about near where I am soldering.  The valve can be done on a bench away from the shower stall.

[Image: wp0-ring-10-4.jpg]

Thought about this some more and you could use a valve like this with threaded connectors with compression fittings

[Image: 03213c0b-10a2-465a-b26f-d40e29559ab9_1000.jpg]
Phydeaux said "Loving your enemy and doing good for those that hurt you does not preclude killing them if they make that necessary."

Phil Thien

women have trouble understanding Trump's MAGA theme because they had so little involvement in making America great the first time around.