fuming furniture
I have a project I'm just finishing up. It is a cabinet about 4'L x3' H x 16"D built of quartersawn white oak in the Craftsman style. I'd like to finish it in the traditional manner, with ammonia fuming. I've never used this technique before so all advice is appreciated (you can skip 'be careful' if you want, I know this stuff can be dangerous and I have the PPE's) One of my basic questions is how much ammonia will this take? I have a chemist friend who has agreed to supply me with what I need, but I'm not sure what to ask for. I really don't want leftovers. I will build my tent to pretty close quarters, and I understand we're looking for a lot of liquid surface to air contact. Would a pint in a pie pan do? I have much to learn about be the process, and of course I'm hopeful for a beautiful finish, but this is as much for experimentation as anything. I built the piece on spec and have nothing to match and no one to please but myself. If anyone can recommend good reference material I would also appreciate that. Thank you.
As someone who has NEVER done this (but always wanted to) the demonstrations I've seen always show the length of time (and other stuff, like temps) is the most important. I suspect a pint would be enough, but I'd still get more. If I recall, the suggestion was to use something in the 25-28% concentration. FWW has a video by Kelly Dunton that I think is very good. I'd also wait to hear from others, and i wish you the best in this adventure. I'd like to see the results!
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.