Exterior door frame replacement
The wood frame around our exterior door out of the garage was rotted.  I decided to replace it with PVC.

$53 for the PVC frame
$25 for the threshold (that was a second trip - didn't know I needed it until I had old door torn out)
$9 for the new weather strip on the bottom of the door
-----
$87* 

I have never done this before, but easy enough, right?

Most of the day today and it is done!  (with many interruptions to knock out several other little things, chase the kids, make a couple meals, etc...). Not hard, just time consuming.  Spent way too much time trying to figure out how the frame and threshold went together - old one wasn't done correctly.  Those both needed to be cut by hand.  I also had to mortise the hinges, deadbolt frame, and lock catch by hand.

In hindsight, I could have bought a prehung door for $170 and would have been done in less than 2 hours.  The current door is steel and has a window, the only one Menards had with non-wood frame for under $250 was fiberglass with no window.  If I were doing it again, I probably would have still done that.  Maybe even put our current door on the new frame and sell the new door on ebay.  $80 to buy back a Saturday would have been a good deal.  But it is done, and I am $80 further away from the poor house for having done it this way, so there it is!

*Add $26 for the vinyl brick mould, but I would have needed that either way...
I don't mess with just changing a door frame. I just rip it all out and put a new door in. If the frame is that bad the door is gone too. I did a door replacement the other day and this door faces south with just a 1' x 36" little roof over it. So the sun damage is awful. Unfortunately my local door supplier takes too long to make up doors with pvc frames and i didnt want to do it myself... There isnt anything about workong on doors that i enjoy...