Rub on poly after brush on poly?
I'm refinishing my dining room table. It's been stripped, sanded, stained and has 3 layers of oil-based polyurethane that I applied with a brush (after sanding lightly with 600 grit between layers).

No matter how slowly I go, no matter what quality of brush I'm using, I still have brush marks when the poly dries (see attached photo).

It doesn't look too terrible, especially since I'm not a professional, but I'd just like to smooth out the finish more.

I've seen people get great results with rub on poly (half poly / half mineral sprits) and am just wondering if I should try that instead of brushing.

Attached Files Image(s)

Wiping varnish is widely described as a "fool proof" method of application. I like it a lot and often use it. You can  make yours by simply diluting the regular varnish by about 50% with MS. As for the finish you now have, it might have flowed out better if you had thinned it a little more. Even so, my normal routine when brushing varnish is to sand it smooth after I get "X" number of coats on. Then the last coat is usually a wiped on coat. Small disclaimer here: I don't use urethane varnish preferring the alkyd resin formulas...but I have to think it will work with a urethane type.  So, to answer your question: Yes, I think you should try it and see what you think. Just remember the finish build is a lot less when wiping it on, the most common rule of thumb is that 3 coats of wiping is roughly equal to one brushed coat.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.