Birch finish ideas
Hi everyone,

I am new to woodworking and building a side table out of 3/4" birch plywood. 

My question is what is the the best way to finish it? 
I don't really want to stain it, just protect it (it will be used and probably have wet glasses on it from time to time). I like the natural look of the plywood but a little darker would not be too bad either. 

From what I've read, you have to seal the plywood first then finish it?

Thanks for any advice.
I re-finished the Baltic birch table tops from my local Starbucks with 4 coats of oil based Minwax semi-gloss after the factory finish failed in about 6 months.  The finish I applied looked good until the day they retired them which was after almost 10 years of commercial use.  

In a residential setting I would use just three coats.  Adding the 4th coat gives it a bit of a plasticky look, but adds durability.

Regardless, let it cure for 200 hours (about one week) before giving it any hard use (and don't leave any objects on it for those 200 hours or it may make an impression on the finish.  

Finishes "dry" overnight but do not fully cure for much longer times.  I find that it is mostly cured after 200 hours but the finish continues to harden over time.
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
(09-07-2017, 07:30 AM)Cooler Wrote: I re-finished the Baltic birch table tops from my local Starbucks with 4 coats of oil based Minwax semi-gloss after the factory finish failed in about 6 months.  The finish I applied looked good until the day they retired them which was after almost 10 years of commercial use.  

In a residential setting I would use just three coats.  Adding the 4th coat gives it a bit of a plasticky look, but adds durability.

Regardless, let it cure for 200 hours (about one week) before giving it any hard use (and don't leave any objects on it for those 200 hours or it may make an impression on the finish.