Router Issue
I've owned the Bosch 1617 2.25 HP router set (fixed base and plunge base) for at least the last 10-12 years. It's had moderate use as I am just a hobbyist and I take very good care of my tools.

Yesterday I went to use the router and it would not turn on... it was just dead. It wasn't like it tried to start and was bound up and then stopped, it was like I flipped the switch with cord not being plugged in.

Would anyone have any clue if there is some sort of surge switch that may have tripped or if there is a known problem with their motors? 

Thanks
A wise man once said, "All woodworkers make mistakes. A good woodworker can hide them."
(09-10-2017, 06:39 AM)Darknight Wrote: I've owned the Bosch 1617 2.25 HP router set (fixed base and plunge base) for at least the last 10-12 years. It's had moderate use as I am just a hobbyist and I take very good care of my tools.

Yesterday I went to use the router and it would not turn on... it was just dead. It wasn't like it tried to start and was bound up and then stopped, it was like I flipped the switch with cord not being plugged in.

Would anyone have any clue if there is some sort of surge switch that may have tripped or if there is a known problem with their motors? 

Thanks

I assume you checked the outlet and know it is good.  The switch itself may be worn out. 

Check the brushes.  Hopefully someone with more motor experience will respond, but you should be able to Google "how to check motor brushes."  On most motors they are easy to get too and replace.
I tried not believing.  That did not work, so now I just believe
Sounds like switch (nothing, no sounds, no warning, dust environment woodworking tool).  Just googled and easy to open up, clean sawdust out and fix. Or replacement switch available fore about $17 (not clear if it is more dust resistant/   Google "Bosch 1617 switch" to find easy detailed directions and even a couple videos.  Good luck and let us know.  Ray