Clear coat over paint?
I am new to this whole woodworking thing.  Just bought a skilsaw and a drill and slapped together a box for my daughter's stuffed animals.  Could have probably bought something cheaper and definitely better looking, but I wanted her to have something built by me.  I plan on painting it some sort of purple and putting a bunch of stars over it.  Then I want to clear coat it so it won't get hurt if she sits a cup on it.  There are a lot of choices in the paint aisle.  My question is if I paint this thing with latex paint, can I cover it with a can of clear coat, or do I have to find something special for latex paint?  Thanks!
This should do the job:

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdfImag...bb5aff.pdf

I have a spray can of Varathane "Diamond Wood Finish", it says it is crystal clear, waterborne, and can be applied over paint. I haven't tried it yet but intend to spray it over a painted bay windowsill  that my wife keeps houseplants on.
Some basic things about this. If by "latex" you refer to wall paint, skip that altogether (exception in a minute). Latex is good for walls, and pretty much nothing else. Clear coating solves the blocking problem it has (maybe) but it's still a very soft paint for furniture use. The exception may be the ones that area 100% acrylic. Which is the paint you want...use a good quality acrylic (or an oil based enamel) paint and it actually wouldn't need to be clear coated. The paint will be quite durable and should hold up very well. Some of the acrylic paints are labeled "acrylic latex", as long as they are 100% acrylic they should work.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.