Odd finish
Hello,

Could someone please help identify this finish? Its from a housee that is 133 years old. The finish is on the trim around the window. I can not for the life of me figure out how to remove it. Im not even sure if the trim is wood. It almost sounds plastic when i knock it.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to woodworking.

Thanks,
Adam

Attached Files Image(s)

(01-05-2018, 01:30 PM)Sp@Z Wrote: Hello,

Could someone please help identify this finish? Its from a housee that is 133 years old. The finish is on the trim around the window. I can not for the life of me figure out how to remove it. Im not even sure if the trim is wood. It almost sounds plastic when i knock it.

I am a complete newbie when it comes to woodworking.

Thanks,
Adam

If it's 133 years old the finish is almost certainly shellac.  Could be varnish, but I'll bet it's not.  The photo on the left looks like some shellac finishes I've seen that had been exposed to lots of sun. I assume the photo on the right is of an undamaged area?  If so, it's either oak, or it's a faux finish made to look like oak.  In any case, chemical stripper will take it off.  I really like KleanStrip Premium.  It's fairly nasty stuff but it works really well and very quickly on shellac and varnish.  

If the wood underneath really is oak you're golden.  You'll have some beautiful wood to refinish.  If it's a faux finish, however, the wood underneath could be anything, but it certainly won't be pretty.  In that case, paint is likely your best course of action.  So test on a small area to find out what you have and to know what you are getting into.  

John