Tool Bevel Angles
I was doing a bit of research yesterday and stumbled across the chart on this page.  I'm not stealth advertising Tormek, it's just one of the better references I've found.

https://www.tormek.com/international/en/...ol-setter/

Scroll down, the chart is on the right.  My own personal experience tends to agree with some of the comments in the chart.  I have a skew chisel and I have a straight chisel - I made it by regrinding a scraper that was too wide and thin to be effective, it chattered.  I'm not an expert at either, but the straight chisel is easier to use.  One big difference is the bevel angle is closer to 30 degrees than my skew, which has a much longer bevel.  I was wondering about that because most of the videos I see of turners better than me have skews with much shorter bevels.   My skew came that way when I got the lathe.  I think I'm going to regrind it to a shorter, steeper bevel

For the bowl gouges, I have a 3/8 gouge that I need to regrind, a 1/2" that's become my go to and a 5/8"  the 5/8" has a grind that's closest to the Ellesworth.  The 3/8" has a grind that's probably closest to #2, and it's noticeably easier to control, especially at the bottom of a bowl.  Again, I'm not an expert and struggle with tool control.
(01-19-2018, 12:34 PM)crokett™ Wrote: I was doing a bit of research yesterday and stumbled across the chart on this page.  I'm not stealth advertising Tormek, it's just one of the better references I've found.

https://www.tormek.com/international/en/...ol-setter/