transplanting trees - when?
I'm planning to relocate some sassafras and poplar trees  this spring. I know "Why mess with junk species?" Because I have many available and want some trees that will grow to shade fast. 
  Is it better to move them before or after they leaf out?

My boss is a Jewish carpenter. Our DADDY owns the business.
Trying to understand some people is like trying to pick up the clean end of a turd.
(04-11-2018, 11:20 AM)Foggy Wrote: I'm planning to relocate some sassafras and poplar trees  this spring. I know "Why mess with junk species?" Because I have many available and want some trees that will grow to shade fast. 
  Is it better to move them before or after they leaf out?

Best before leaves and before buds start is best.

Bill B
(04-11-2018, 01:23 PM)thooks Wrote: Too late this year.  Try mid January.

I think Foggy is here in MI. If you get it done NOW, you should be OK. Stake them and keep them watered. Otherwise, I'd wait until November.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

I ran a tree machine all year long now is a good time to do that.  As long as you have plenty of water for them mid July was he worst but we just watered everyday and they took these were trees that were about 4 inch in diameter.
I've transplanted and planted trees in July. They'll survive, you just have to give them more water.
I'm sure you will find the answer here:

https://www.google.com/search?ei=vG7OWsC...Q55Ch1W_1o

About 515,000 results (0.39 seconds)
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
(04-11-2018, 03:25 PM)Cooler Wrote: I'm sure you will find the answer here:

https://www.google.com/search?ei=vG7OWsC...Q55Ch1W_1o

About 515,000 results (0.39 seconds)

That is kinda ironic coming from you....
Laugh
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver