Help with my riding mower
I used my Craftsman riding mower about 2 months ago to mulch leaves; it ran fine.
I went use it today and it acted like the battery was dead; I turned the key and nothing happened. No clicking, the ampere gauge didn't move, nothing. I checked the battery and it is fully charged; I even hooked a charger up to it and still nothing. After banging on the side where the starter relay is I get a few clicks. Replaced the relay and got plenty of clicks when I turn the key, but that's it even with the charger on it. What's my next step (and I am not electrically gifted.)
Thanks for any help.

Rick
Any government that robs Peter to pay Paul, can always count on the support of Paul!
MAGA!!
How do you know that battery is charged?  I presume you got a reading of something over 12V (if it's a 12-volt system).

I'm no electrical expert, but I learned a couple things about batteries this winter season.  I ruined the batteries in an ATV and in my zero-turn mower, both by leaving the master switch on (story best left for later).  They were so dead that the charging unit didn't react at all when I hooked them up.  I managed to get the ATV started, as long as I was jumping it with my pickup truck.  As soon as I disconnected, the machine would die.  I never could get any response out of the mower.  New batteries fixed both.
(04-20-2018, 08:18 PM)WxMan Wrote: How do you know that battery is charged?  I presume you got a reading of something over 12V (if it's a 12-volt system).