hand-planer
I'm a newbie anyway glad to be on board
Yes
Yes 

I have no experience of making wooden furniture myself though I want to try. I guess I have all necessary tools except of a hand planer so I suppose I would get in the nearest time if only you give me a sound advice which is better to pick. I want a tool that is compact, but powerful enough and preferably with no need of additional adapters or so.

cheers

Attached Files Image(s)

(05-14-2018, 09:03 AM)Rick_123 Wrote: I'm a newbie anyway glad to be on board
Yes
Yes 

I have no experience of making wooden furniture myself though I want to try. I guess I have all necessary tools except of a hand planer so I suppose I would get in the nearest time if only you give me a sound advice which is better to pick. I want a tool that is compact, but powerful enough and preferably with no need of additional adapters or so.

cheers

Hello Rick - welcome to the forum!
Smile

Well, first one plane only is just not enough - how many you will eventually buy depends on your needs, projects built, and importantly HOW MUCH you want to spend - take a look at Lee Nielsen and the Veritas just to see the WIDE variety of planes available for so many different chores - now these are also some of the more expensive planes one could buy - there are certainly less expensive ones and re-built older planes can be another less costly option - check the 'Woodworking Hand Tools' forum for many more ideas (and members there selling refurbed planes).

For myself, I probably have a dozen or more planes, mostly those from Lee Valley, i.e. Veritas - I probably use my medium size smoothing plane, block planes, and shoulder plane the most.  Good luck and ask some more questions and let us know your budget.  Dave
Piedmont North Carolina
Welcome to the forum.

When you say "hand planer", are you referring to this;

[Image: Vaughan-Bushnell-700-Uncle-Sam-Series.jpg]

or this?

[Image: 41Zo0cuiy1L._SL500_AC_SS350_.jpg]