remodeling question for TX/Austin
My cousin's wife posted pictures on Facebook of a home remodel they are doing in Austin, TX.  They're using a contractor.  Lots of new interior walls, etc.  The bottom plates of the walls sitting on concrete don't look like pressure treated lumber, and she confirmed they looked like "normal" wood, but did add that the builder did a termite treatment followed by a plastic vapor barrier before pouring this new concrete.  I only saw pics of interior walls.

I have framed one wall in my life on concrete and have seen it done a bunch on TV (so I have no real experience), but have always heard that if there is wood on concrete, it should be pressure treated.  Is that just a CYA thing or a regional thing or code or not always necessary depending on the location of the walls, etc?
We built hundreds of slab houses and never used treated wood on the bottom plates.  There are also thousands of houses that have basements that have untreated wood for rooms.  Some of those remodel shows do stuff that makes no sense.
It's "preferred" but not code everywhere.

In some places like here, it's required in basements but not required for slabs on grade.
Neil Summers Home Inspections

" What would Fred do?"

... CLETUS

Back in the 70's I remember we would put down a strip of felt underneath- for some reason.  
Raised
(05-24-2018, 08:47 AM)daddo Wrote: Back in the 70's I remember we would put down a strip of felt underneath- for some reason.  
Raised

I've seen it set on plastic sheeting and then they wrap the sheet up and staple it to the studs. Not sure I like that either as it creates a "bucket". Not good if the water is coming in from the top, down.
Neil Summers Home Inspections

" What would Fred do?"

... CLETUS

With Habitat we put down a little blue foam strip under the bottom sill.  I think its more for insulation, sealing drafts than water protection.
"Oh. Um, l-- look, i-- i-- if we built this large wooden badger" ~ Sir Bedevere