John Deere AMT 600 Brake Conversion
Just for some background, the AMT 600 was the Gator before the Gator was the Gator.  4 wheels in back, tricycle wheel up front.  Mine is about 30 years old.   The brakes are disc but are operated with a cable.  This makes them very stiff, even for me.  I found some stuff online about replacing the existing brakes with ATV hydraulic brakes but no real details on how it was done.  I got a used set and the master cylinder off Ebay.   I'm going to do the conversion this weekend.  I had a friend who wrenches on motorcycles and some on ATVs come over to look things over. We think we can mount the new calipers to the existing bracket, if not I will have to fab up a new plate.    The easy part will be installing the new brake lines.  I'll try and get some pictures as I go.
(05-31-2018, 03:18 PM)crokett™ Wrote: Just for some background, the AMT 600 was the Gator before the Gator was the Gator.  4 wheels in back, tricycle wheel up front.  Mine is about 30 years old.   The brakes are disc but are operated with a cable.  This makes them very stiff, even for me.  I found some stuff online about replacing the existing brakes with ATV hydraulic brakes but no real details on how it was done.  I got a used set and the master cylinder off Ebay.   I'm going to do the conversion this weekend.  I had a friend who wrenches on motorcycles and some on ATVs come over to look things over. We think we can mount the new calipers to the existing bracket, if not I will have to fab up a new plate.    The easy part will be installing the new brake lines.  I'll try and get some pictures as I go.

I would look at the ATV/UTV forum on mytractorforum.com  to see if anyone has already done this.  That would also be the better place to ask, IMHO.

http://www.mytractorforum.com/index.php

Paul
Paul
They were right, I SHOULDN'T have tried it at home!