Stuck on a project - need guidance
I have been working on a desk for my daughter already for at least 2 years on and off (mostly off).  This is my first project using mortise and tenon joints and I think I am just afraid to take the next step with gluing everything and the drawer slides installation.  What words of wisdom can you offer to give me that much needed nudge?

Questions:
  1. Should I tape the tenons, apply the finish and then glue or the other way around?
  2. After I planned the 3 boards for top and glued them, the panel ended up being slightly under 3/4" -  is that too thin for the top?
  3. How should I attach the top to allow for expansion?

This is the book from which I found the plans:

[Image: Cover_zpsx914fq7e.jpg]

[Image: Plan_zps6orkcijd.jpg]
Following your question:

1)  My rule of thumb is whichever way is easier with respect to finishing.  If you finish first you can't make any adjustments with how parts fit together afterwards.  That alone generally drives me towards finishing last.  But there are some cases, like when you have a lot of slats or spindles really close together that would be nearly impossible to finish after assembly, that make it much easier to finish first.  Sometimes I use a hybrid approach.  For example, I would finish hardwood panels that go into frame and panel construction before assembly.  Plywood panels, like you are using, I don't.  

2)  My opinion is that top will be plenty rigid enough even if only 5/8" thick.  

3)  Several ways to attach the top with respect to expansion.  The easiest is probably fixed screws at the rear, and screws in slotted holes at the front and anywhere along the sides.  That keeps the top aligned to the back but allows for expansion.  

John
Finish the inside surfaces as desired/required before assembly so taping the tenons would be a good thing, as well as avoiding finish inside the mortises.