Lathe
Not sure if this belongs here or in the Turning section, but here goes.  I am a hobbyist with a basement full of powertools that I use every chance I get.  Have been thinking about getting a lathe and have never owned or operated one before.  I guess I should start with a small and inexpensive one, but on the other hand there is something to be said for jumping in with a larger one on the assumption that I will get good with it and continue to use.  I have seen from some other posts that as a beginner one needs a lot more than the lathe - chucks, gouges, other tools, safety equipment, and I am comfortable with that.  As far as the machine itself though, I am not sure where to start.  Small, medium, large, smaller and graduate to an table extension?  As usual, any and all advice appreciated!  FPT.
Do you have a Woodcraft store near you? You might want to see if they have any turning classes and sign up for a couple to see if it's really something you want to do...

I've got a couple lathes, and the bigger one rarely gets used. That's not to say I don't have plans for it (
Winkgrin ). I don't know that I'd get too invested up front other than the bare necessities. Lathe - complete with faceplates/drive centers & rests (size doesn't matter, but just starting out I think I might start with a used one...), a basic set of tools, a faceshield, and some scrap wood. Find yourself a spot in the shop where you won't mind chips flying all over the place to set it up and plug that puppy in!
Yes 

I really would recommend a class, or two, though. There's a lot I didn't know when I bought my first lathe...
Smirk 

Dave
"One should respect public opinion insofar as is necessary to avoid starvation and keep out of prison, but anything that goes beyond this is voluntary submission to an unnecessary tyrany, and is likely to interfere with happiness in all kinds of ways."
The turning forum is a great place; lots of folks there who can answer every question you have.