Dust collector system design
(05-19-2019, 06:22 AM)fredhargis Wrote: It's always a guess to say whether something like this will work, but that seems to be enough collector for what you want. With a 12" impeller and a 2HP motor, it should draw adequate air. One thing about your design that might bite you in the butt is the 4" drops feeding the 6" trunk line. There needs to be enough air in the 6" to carry the chips/dust, especially across 36'. What i'm queasy about is whether the 4" drops will allow enough air for that to happen.

I am with Fred with this.  36' line is a very long like for 2hp.
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
(05-19-2019, 01:57 PM)tedrussell Wrote: I'm still learning about all this ... I kept seeing mention of cyclones, and thought they were an alternative to a filtered separator.  Now I realize a cyclone is a pre-separator that is upstream from the separator. Correct?  Contrary to what I said before, if I add an $890 Oneida cyclone to the system, I could probably vent the exhaust out of the building, and I'll have a much better performing system.  The additional expense would be less than a new 3 hp separator. But does the cyclone incur an additional static pressure loss that outweighs the improvements of a cleaner filter and open venting to the outside?

Correct, most of us do not consider the filter a separator so our language is getting in the way. A separator will allow you to vent out without concern of a huge pile of chips next to your building. It also increase the SP loss considerably whether that outweighs the direct vent gain is purely a guess. You don't have to add an Oneida $890 cyclone, there are a lot of other (cheaper) options from a trash cover (not my first choice) to a Thein to an e bay cyclone to a shop built unit.