Butternut
Have a chance to buy rough sawn 3 year air dried butternut. $3 a board foot. I have never used Butternut before. What color is it and would it be good for segmenting? Thanks and I look forward to your answers.
Not a turner, but it is in the same family as walnut and works similarly. To my eye, it is like faded out walnut. So, I think it would make a pretty turning but maybe not so much as a stark contrast that I assume you're going for in a segmented turning.
(07-31-2019, 03:54 PM)Turner52 Wrote: Have a chance to buy rough sawn 3 year air dried butternut. $3 a board foot. I have never used Butternut before. What color is it and would it be good for segmenting? Thanks and I look forward to your answers.

$3 seems a little expensive for air dried wood. I get kiln dried ash, maple, and walnut for that. Try to check the moisture content. You don't want it to move much and make your glue joints stand out.
We do segmented turning, not because it is easy, but because it is hard.
(07-31-2019, 03:54 PM)Turner52 Wrote: Have a chance to buy rough sawn 3 year air dried butternut. $3 a board foot. I have never used Butternut before. What color is it and would it be good for segmenting? Thanks and I look forward to your answers.
Soft, and yellow-brown. https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=but...&FORM=IGRE  

No matter how it dried, after a month in your shop it will be the same moisture content as what's there now.  As to price, doesn't seem out of line to me, though I have none available at local mills to compare.
Better to follow the leader than the pack. Less to step in.
I think that's a good price. I have used it and actually have some on hand for a future project of some sort. Lots of folks call it the white walnut, but I disagree. It is a lot softer than walnut and has a different grain pattern.