Why interchangeable handles on tools?
OK, warning: Experienced woodworker but a 60 year old fresh newbie to wood-turning here.  I just purchased a Jet midi lathe and I'm considering some *carbide turning tools to get started.

*(Yes, I know HSS are better but carbide are easier to learn with and I don't have a grinder or sharpening jigs yet.)

Anyway; as I've looked at the carbide tools available, I've noticed that several offer them as different shafts that are swapped out onto a universal handle. Often requiring an allen wrench or other tool. Now this doesn't make much sense to me. Why not just give each one a handle and skip all this time spent swapping back & forth.

Once again I'll repeat, I'm new to this so maybe I'm just not considering something important. Before I purchase anything, what am I missing?
Telling a man he has too many tools,
is like telling a woman she has too many shoes.
I use a belt sander to edge my tools.  The vertical 6 inch disc make a quick touch up possible. Eventualy you'll have to regrind the bevel. I take less off and get sharp edges. I started with the Harbor Freight [Red] handled turning chisels to learn uses and sharpening. I have seen and handled the cheaper sets, not worth the money or effort. They are a set for  spindle work but a good starting set. Not to mention your not grinding away expensive metal in the learning process. I still have them on hand even though they have been repurposed.
(12-18-2019, 11:04 AM)Terry W Wrote: OK, warning: Experienced woodworker but a 60 year old fresh newbie to wood-turning here.  I just purchased a Jet midi lathe and I'm considering some *carbide turning tools to get started.

*(Yes, I know HSS are better but carbide are easier to learn with and I don't have a grinder or sharpening jigs yet.)