Dutch tool chests - do you still love them
Hi all,

I'm somewhat new to the hand tools scene but I'm seeing it might be my woodworking future. A little back story, I don't have a lot of room for tool storage and none of it is where I actually use my tools.  I have found that moving big heavy machines from storage space to using space is somewhat of a chore. Especially since I have to clean them before they go back to where I keep them so they don't get dust all over the house.  

Currently, I have a miscellaneous collection of planes, chisels and saws, etc that I keep in a large under the bed type plastic tote container.  That is not ideal for getting my hand tools from inside the house to outside.  I was thinking maybe one of those Dutch chests that were quite popular a little while back might be just the thing. I see that it was kind of the latest in the popular things to build (even St Roy said so in his episode on the chest).  

So my questions are
If you built one, do you still use it and would you recommend one?
Is it movable by a single person or is it just too heavy once loaded up?
If too heavy, is it sturdy enough for added wheels and to withstand the bumps and thumps it will experience moving from one space to another.  

My other thought is maybe a couple of those Japanese tool chests.  My hand skills are limited so I don't want to tackle anything like a Stickley chest or similar at this point.
Yes! I would recommend, and build it sized to your tools. As for weight, I would probably have to unload some of the tools, but then again, I'm 67 and as full of pee and vinegar as I once was. Instead of wheels, maybe build a sub-platform to sit it in, that would have casters on?
Waiting to grow up beyond being just a member
www.metaltech-pm.com
I was thinking that one of those fold up dolly carts might work for mobility, but then it would still be on the floor once I get it outside.